Welcome!

Hey! This is my first every blog post and I guess this is probably the part where I introduce myself. My name is Jack, I’m 22 and I’m a student from Northamptonshire in the UK.

DCIM109GOPROG0633014.That’s me on the right^

For the past three years, I have spent my summers living and working as a counsellor at a special educational needs summer camp in the Adirondack Park in Upstate New York. The camp is co-ed with children aged from 8 to 18 and has all the normal land and water sports that can be found at every camp. It also features activity programming to aid in the social skills, self-esteem, and independence of children with High Functioning Autism, Asperger’s Syndrome, Attention Deficits, Language Processing Weaknesses and children with other forms of minimal learning issues. Once the summer starts, all the disability labels cease to exclude the children and they become campers which thrive and enjoy themselves like children at any typical summer camp.


Due to the sensitive nature of the children who visit the camp, no photos of campers or camper names will be used throughout this blog. All names that do appear will be fictitious.


IMG_6851.jpg

Working at the Camp has let me do all kinds of awesome things and it even provided me with a new direction in life. I ended up working in a primary school back in the UK and I’m now completing an undergraduate degree in Special Education and Inclusion.

When it came to deciding whether I should spend another season in the America, it was a pretty easy decision. With my fourth summer only two months away, this blog is going to feature some explanations of life at camp to help you understand the camp bubble, my plans, preparation’s and then travel diaries once I’m away!

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you enjoy my content!

Jack 🙂

DSC_0832.JPG

Leave a Reply

